// Home / Road / news

GATINEAU, May 19, 2017 – Team Canada will field a world championship level squad for the women’s only Grand Prix Cycliste Gatineau this weekend.  The squad will include four Rio Olympians and two Olympic medalists.

The Grand Prix Cycliste Gatineau, now in its eighth year, is the highest level internationally UCI sanctioned road event for women in Eastern Canada, and will attract teams and competitors from more than a dozen nations.

The GPCG consists of an individual time trial (Chrono) on Friday, followed by a road race through the Gatineau Parc on Saturday. Over the years the race has boasted entries by World and Olympic champions and has been a showcase for the region and the historic park.

Racing for Canada will be many of our country’s top professional riders, including Rio bronze medalists Allison Beveridge and Kirsti Lay.  Joining them will be Karol-Ann Canuel, a three time member of the world champion team time trial squad, and Leah Kirchmann, second overall in the Women’s World Tour last season.  Two young riders who have already shown their mettle will also race in Canadian colours – Sara Poidevin and Katherine Maine.

The Chrono Gatineau is held on Friday on a 21 kilometre closed circuit.  The out-and-back course will take the riders through the Gatineau national park outside of Ottawa, opening with a long rolling climb to the turnaround point and then a fast descent back to the finish.  Competitors are sent off one at a time at one-minute intervals.

On Saturday afternoon the field will face a 104.4 kilometre race on a circuit in Gatineau national park.

Karol-Ann Canuel, Amos, QC
Leah Kirchmann, Winnipeg, MB
Kirsti Lay, Montreal, QC
Allison Beveridge, Calgary, AB
Sara Poidevin, Canmore, AB
Katherine Maine, Ottawa, ON