Cyclo-Cross NEWS

Ottawa, ON, January 25, 2018 – Cycling Canada and the Canadian Cyclo-cross Working Group have announced the team of 13 athletes that will represent Canada at the 2018 Cyclo-cross World Championships, to take place in Valkenburg, Netherlands, on February 3-4.

The team will include four reigning national champions, led by the Elite women’s and men’s champions – Christel Ferrier Bruneau of Granby, Quebec, and Michael Van den Ham of Abbottsford, BC.  Prior to the world championships, the team will participate in the final round of the Cyclo-cross World Cup, on January 27-28, in Hoogerheide, Netherlands.

Scott Kelly, Program Manager for the Canadian National Cyclo-cross Team, said “We’ve assembled a great team of athletes to represent Canada at this year’s World Championships. Our National program is still very much in a growth phase and our goal at every international competition is for our athletes to continue to learn and develop. The World Championships is a great opportunity for our riders to take everything they’ve learned this year, put it all together on the day and leave everything out on the course.”

“We are, as always, extremely grateful to our staff for volunteering their time and expertise during these World Championships,” said Kris Westwood, High Performance Director at Cycling Canada. “This is the sixth consecutive Cyclo-cross World Championships for our core group of volunteer Cyclo-cross staff, and we are incredibly appreciative of their efforts every year supporting the National Cyclo-cross Program at World Cups and the World Championships.”

Canadian National Team Roster (* denotes National Champion):

Junior Men
Paul Mysko – Barrie, Ontario
Dylan Kerr – Horseshoe Valley, Ontario
Conor Martin – Kelowna, BC
Tyler Clark * – King City, Ontario

Under-23 Women
Magdeleine Vallieres Mill – Sherbrooke, Quebec
Siobhan Kelly – London, Ontario
Ruby West * – Dundas, Ontario

Under-23 Men
Nicholas Diniz – Oakville, Ontario

Elite Women
Mical Dyck – Cumberland, BC
Maghalie Rochette – St-Jerome, Quebec
Christel Ferrier Bruneau * – Granby, Quebec

Elite Men
Mark McConnell – Calgary, AB
Michael Van den Ham* – Abbottsford, BC

Cycling Canada does not receive government funding for Cyclo-cross programs, which means all projects are funded through sponsorships, private donations or by the athletes themselves. Any amount donated has a direct impact on the development of this sport in Canada. To donate, please visit If you are interested in sponsorship opportunities please contact Scott Kelly at